Hayden's Ferry Review



Hayden’s Ferry Review, founded in 1986, is a semi-annual international literary journal edited by the Creative Writing program at Arizona State University. Our mission is to showcase emerging talents in the literary community. While we also focus on tradition, our main purpose is to introduce the world to up and coming writers.

At Hayden’s Ferry Review we look for well-crafted work that challenges readers, takes risks, and engages emotionally and artistically. A small portion of our publication is solicited from established authors, while the majority of our contributors are chosen from the thousands of manuscripts we receive each year. Each issue includes poetry, prose, translations, and visual art.

Among the writers and artists who’ve found a home in Hayden’s Ferry Review are: George Saunders, Haruki Murakami, Rita Dove, Joseph Heller, Ron Carlson, Peggy Shumaker, Raymond Carver, Dianne Nelson, Norman Dubie, John Updike, TC Boyle, Gloria Naylor, Naomi Shihab Nye, Ken Kesey, Tess Gallagher, Pam Houston, Lydia Davis, Benjamin Percy, Matt Bell, B.J. Hollars, Mike Meginnis, and Anne Valente.

Masthead (Issue 55: Fall/Winter 2014 & Issue 56: Spring/Summer 2015)
Editor-in-Chief: Dana Diehl

Managing Editor: Chelsea Hickok

Prose Editors: Allegra Hyde and Gary J. Garrison

Poetry Editors: Dorothy Chan and Jacqueline Balderrama

International Editors: Alex McElroy and Brian Bender

Art Editor: Ashley Czajkowski

Special Projects: Heath Wilcock

Copy Editor: Mindy Wilson


(Issue 54: Spring/Summer 2014)

Editor-in-Chief: Sam Martone

Managing Editor: Dana Diehl

Prose Editors: Jeff Albers and Allegra Hyde

Poetry Editors: Christine Holm and Dorothy Chan

International Editors: Alex McElroy and Christine Holm

Art Editor: Thomas Hobbs

Copy Editor: Mindy Wilson

Questions? Comments? Send us an email at hfr@asu.edu. Or follow us on Twitter. Or check us out on Facebook. There are SO many ways to reach us.

Dana D